1997 Pontiac Grand Prix rocker panel fix - Update, painted!

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Settled In
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:11 am
Hey guys,

Long time reader, first time poster! I appreciate all of the information people have posted on this board, and I thought I would post up some pics of my first adventure in body repair.

Backstory: This is my '97 GTP with ~200k on it in MI and PA snow and salt. It's a hobby car / daily driver with newer modified engine, transmission, and suspension, so when the rocker panels rotted off I didn't feel justified in junking it.

Go easy on me because I'm new at sheet metal work and welding!

Before, passenger side:

Garbage that fell out of the driver side:

Pieces I cut off of my parts car and disassembled for wirewheeling and painting:

Painted, removed masking from weld areas and sprayed those with weld-thru primer:

Body cleaned up and primed:

Inner rocker and rocker reinforcement installed:

I had to make a patch panel for the floor, since it rotted away from the inner rocker panel in areas. Here is is screwed in and ready for welding.

Driver's side ready, pretty much.

Passenger side:

Now I need to test fit the doors, fenders, etc prior to body filling and painting. Still trying to decide whether I should rattle can, learn how to spray 2k paint, or just take it to the paint shop and be done with it...

Hope these pics can help someone else, feel free to message me or post questions if you want to tack this job yourself :)

-Justin
Last edited by Lysander on Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:24 pm
Looking good, thats lots of work!!

Next time you are replacing anything structural, jack up the car on the suspension, NOT on the body. You need to have the car sitting as it does when the wheels are on the ground.

Keep the photos coming!! :D :D
Dr. Auto Car Repairs http://www.doctorautorepair.com