New Member, First paint Job! Very Pic Heavy

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:15 pm
Hey guys, this is my first post on here so let me introduce myself. My name is Kevin, I'm 26 years old, and I reside in the Chicago burb of Streamwood. I am a Natural gas inspector for the state of IL by day car enthusiast (turbo 4 cylinders to be specific) by night. I decided to tackle my first paint project last summer, and boy it was a lot more involved than I ever imagined, but is coming along quite nicely after a lot of reading and watching videos. The car is a 91 eagle talon tsi AWD. When I purchased it, it was pretty clean for a '91, had some minor dings/ dents but it was this grandpa looking champagne color that I just couldn't stand, so I decided to do a complete color change on it. I decided to paint it BMW Alpine white and keep the two tone theme it came with a black roof and spoiler. As of now I am at the point where I am ready to final block sand and spray the car. I have painted all the undersides of the hood and hatch and I jammed all the openings. During this process I learned the hard way to not use cheap painters plastic to mask, I had paint flaking off and I had sand and re-shoot the door jambs. I know I will probably get flamed for this but all of the products I used were TCP's restoration shop- Base , and also there "kustom Shop" Clear and 2k Primer. Body filler was 3m Marson gold. Honestly, I have nothing to compare it to, but I think it sprays and looks nice. I had mostly full coverage in two coats. The guns I am using are Devilbis starting line. Respirator is an MSA comfo classic. Like I said this is my first time ever spraying anything so any suggestions are welcomed. Here's some pics.

Settled In
Canada
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:49 am
Looking good...I'll keep watching for updates.
69 Mustang 302 Coupe
Currently in "Rust Removal" stage