04 durango front end damage seek advise !!

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 9:14 pm
hey guys
im fairly new to working on doing body work . however much motivated to lear and not afraid to work hard. so i bought this 04 red durango from auction . front end damage hood , left fender, no grill and bumper gone .. . i knew those those things will have to be repaired or replaced . however after removing the front bumper's impact absorber bracket : notice something dont look right !!! so got underneath just realize i believe this the right name for these parts "bumper impact insulator absorber shock" its two thick pipes looking things and ARE PART OF THE VEHICLES'S FRAME the one on the right its cracked its also bend some QUESTION : can this part be welded and streighten out and does any body has any idea how expensive will this be ? .....

gracias-

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 9:26 pm
Can you post some pictures?
Real hard to give advice on written description.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:55 am
be glad to post pictures ! thanks
Attachments
20160824_081128.jpg
passenger side
20160824_081121.jpg
drivers side
20160824_082212.jpg
drivers side bend some too
20160824_081208.jpg
passenger side one worst. crack
20160824_081115.jpg

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:52 pm
Looks like they unbolt further up the frame. The name is rail package, look like they run about $500 a piece from dodge.

http://www.factorychryslerparts.com/sho ... gory=20301

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:50 pm
holly macro !! 500 a pop .. maybe I can find them in a junk yard . or I'm thinking about going to a frame shop here in dallas area. see what that will cost to fix them. at least I have other options may be getting them from a salvage yard ..