My Paint Job - 356 Replica

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Settled In
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:43 pm
Thought I'd combine all my posts into one thread.

FIRST OFF-I AM NOT AN EXPERT, I AM JUST YOUR AVERAGE JOE WHO USED THIS FORUM AND THE ADVICE GIVEN TO PAINT HIS CAR. THE FOLLOWING JUST SHOWS WHAT I DID. THAT DOES NOT MEAN IT IS RIGHT, JUST WHAT I DID.

CAR TURNED OUT WAY BETTER THAN I EXPECTED THANKS TO ALL THE AMAZING ADVICE I GOT HERE. HUGE THANKS TO RECKON and BONDO KING. YOUR ADVICE PATIENCE AND GUIDANCE MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE. ALSO TO MY GOOD FRIEND BRIAN McLAUGHLAN FOR HIS TIME AND HELP. ALSO THE CARS ORIGINAL OWNER DEREK WINTER DESERVES A MENTION FOR THE HUGE (AND I MEAN HUGE) AMOUNT OF WORK HE PUT INTO THE CAR BEFORE I CAME ON THE SCENE.

OK HERE WE GO!

CAR AS BOUGHT

FILLING WAS DONE WITH EPOXY FILLER SANDED DOWN WITH 80 GRIT THEN TOP STOP GOLD WHICH WAS TAKEN DOWN WITH 120 THEN 240.

HOME MADE SANDING FLOAT USED TO GET THE PANELS SUPER STRAIGHT

AFTER A LOT OF TIME GETTING EVERYTHING SMOOTHED OFF, CAR WAS MOVED INTO MY GARAGE FOR PAINTING. DECIDED TO PAINT THE DOORS, ENGINE COVER OFF THE CAR FOR A BETTER FINISH.

FIRST COAT WAS 2 PACK PRIMER TO SEAL IN WHAT WAS BELOW IT (WASN'T SURE)

THIS WAS THE GUIDE COATED AND RUBBED DOWN BEFORE THE NEXT COAT OF EPOXY HIGH BUILD PRIMER WAS APPLIED

AGAIN IT WAS GUIDE COATED USING A RATTLE CAN

Whats a guide coat?

I'm no expert but I'll explain it the way I understand/use it.

You spray a contrasting colour over the primer in a light pattern. I used a matt black aerosol. The intention is then to sand it off. The high spots rub off first. The low spots rub off last. Rub them all off, and...you have a perfectly flat surface. I'm using 240 grit paper at this stage.

I then shot another coat of 2 pack primer over this to act as a base for the colour and clear. I rubbed this coat doen with 400 grit.