Motorcycle plastics ?

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Non-Lurker

Canada
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:26 pm
Hi guys......another newbie here to the forum as well as to painting.I'm looking for advice/tips/pointer etc on my first ever attempt to paint a new fibreglass fairing of a motorcycle,plastic side panels and a metal gastank.I have have some basic questions,well, I bet basic for the talent in here.I have sanded everything with 400 grit wet/dry and then finished with 1200 grit.Everything is as smooth as silk to touch.Can I list a few questions ?
Do I prime ,if so with what type or brand?
Same primer for everything?
Do I sand after primer but before paint?
What do I clean surfaces with before paint/prime?
Can I use the same paint on metal/fibreglass/plastic?
Any particular brand of paint better ?
When spraying...multiple thin coats best?

I will be doing this in a spray booth,brand new princess auto spray HVLP gun-600ml cup....anything stands out in your mind I should be aware of.? Be Kind!
:roll:

Top Contributor

USA
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:25 pm
Well the plastic needs adhesion promoter.
After that you can go epoxy mixed as sealer on everything.
Next base/clear.
I would use rubbing alcohol and a lint free rag in this application. Wipe or spray on. Then wipe off.
Use a tack rag too after you clean it.
Never argue with an idiot, he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:18 pm
should have stopped with the 400 grit.
1200 might be too fine for the paint to "bite" into.

if you didn't get runs or overspray in the primer, no need to sand. but most people I've talked to always sand the primer always.
I'm not a pro either but a good rule of thumb it stick with the same brand and paint line from primer to clear.
of course I've also done it with other brands of primer than the paint with no side effects.