2014 Subaru Forester Raw Plastic front bumper cover painting

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 6:08 am
Does anyone know the proper procedure subaru recommends for painting a new oem bumper in raw plastic? Painted it once, and it peeled all over. I wiped it down twice with SEM plastic prep, grey scotchbrited, PPG's DP 40, Sherwin Williams basecoat, and ********** Universal Clear. You can almost peel it off in sheets. I am assuming I didn't get all the mold release off of it. You can see the scratch marks on the back side of the dp 40 epoxy sealer, when you peel it off. Just trying to figure out what Subaru says to do on raw plastic. Or does anyone know who i can call to find out? I will try to call the 1-800-782-2783 number and ask too. I am a painter by trade, but this one has me stumped. Plastic from what I understand is polypropylene. Thanks.

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 6:50 am
Best bet on that is to contact Subaru or a dealer to find out if there's a technical bulletin or repair map on that. They ought to have the prep spelled out to meet warranty specs.

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:41 pm
Chris' suggestion, above, is your best first action, however, my experience is that they'll come back with something like "using appropriate products and procedures as recommended by paint manufacturer".

So you're back to square one. You' re right, it is mould release oil that is the problem. Combine that with a level of porosity in the plastic and the usual procedures don't work. We've had it a few times, usually with body kits manufactured in Asia but occasionally with OEM parts too.