Painting plastic

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:59 pm
I have some 05 ford 150 that a customer wants painted but I've never painted plastic. What's the process? Epoxy primer? Self etching? Any help be great. Thank in advance

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:58 pm
Use either epoxy or a DTM 2K primer, the Tamco product I sell here is perfect for this. I would not use etch, guys use it on plastic but I just don't like the idea.

Fully Engaged

Canada
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:16 pm
I'm no expert on plastic but painted my Toyota grill & head light bezels back in 2007. I didn't have any epoxy as I was living in a small town of about 900 and was bored and wanted to paint something.

I scuffed it using burgundy pads and shot it with 2 coats of black S.S. (Endura) with a cheap gun. I did this under the side door stair well at my rental house and it got dark by the time second coat, so with a flash light in one hand and a spray gun in the other I hosed in on. It turned out better than I thought and is still holding up today. The pain was the honey comb portion of the grill, both to scuff and paint. The pic looks a little funny as I was experimenting with a cheap fish eye lens then.
Attachments
IMG_2995.jpg

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:33 am
Sure, if the parts have a finish on them already that works.

For the OP, you asked about epoxy versus etch - I didn't go into the full description of how to prep plastic (wash it really well, degreaser, use adhesion promoter on raw plastic, etc.)

all that applies, too.

Fully Engaged
USA
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 7:18 pm
chris wrote:Sure, if the parts have a finish on them already that works.

For the OP, you asked about epoxy versus etch - I didn't go into the full description of how to prep plastic (wash it really well, degreaser, use adhesion promoter on raw plastic, etc.)

all that applies, too.