Repair, prep, and paint damaged ABS motorcycle fairings

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:12 pm
This is my first attempt at any kind of body work. I have read through several articles and forum posts, including skullsession's thread on reworking ABS fairings and feel that I learned quite a bit, mostly that I know nothing.

So, I am working with an ABS plastic fairing that has already been repainted once. From top to bottom, I see a top clear coat, the red base coat, a white primer, the blue OEM base coat (probably a clear on top of that), then bare ABS.

Since the rash had already gouged down to the ABS, I started there with a dry sand using standard woodworking 220 grit to try and smooth it out. Then, in an amateur move, I tried a wet sand with the same 220 grit on the whole fairing. The paper didn't hold up for long so I did wet sand with proper 3M wet-dry 400 grit. I am unsure how many layers should be removed so maybe I got a little carried away. I understand I must at least get rid of all shiny parts. Here's where I am so far:
fairing_prep_001_left_upper.jpg

So how many layers should I be removing? Should I only sand down to ABS in the damaged areas like ScottB says here?

Some later posts in that thread suggest removing everything down to the bare plastic. Is this the better approach for my application, considering it's already been repainted once?

I have Urethane Supply Flex Filler to fill the deep gouges. Does anyone know if this will require complete paint removal, or does it work over paint? Looking for an answer, I found the plastic repair book and on page 17 they say to use their hardset filler on rigid plastics like ABS, which is annoying, since their how to guide and video on fairing repair says to use flex filler. I'll probably call for an explanation.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:29 am