Questions... Preping a Motorcycle for Paint

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:31 pm
I am very new to paint and body work.

For the last 8 months most of my free time has been spent painting pieces of scrap sheet metal in the back yard or reading and learning on the forums and YouTube. I bought a decent compressor, air filter bank, a good gun (makes all the difference in the world), and a decent little airbrush. I have figured out how to get basecoat down nice and smooth and the new gun lays the clear out like glass. I have been fooling with pearls, metal flake, and candies from the beginning. Here are a couple of my latest pieces.

Red Flake.JPG

15 Helmet 11-24.JPG

I have decided it is time to move up and try something larger. Enter my number 2 bike… a 2006 Kawasaki cruiser with 38,XXX miles. I have been wanting to paint the bags since I got them. I figure at this point I may as well paint the whole bike.

bphoto.jpg

This bike has parts that are metal, plastic, and fiberglass… and each material will need a little work. From what I’ve read so far there will be a different approach to each material and each repair. I would like to get opinions on what products and processes to use to get the bike prepped properly. So here is the list…

Tank – Made of steel, has a small chip on the tank seam. Chip is only the BC and clear, OEM primer seems to be intact, zero rust. OEM finish is otherwise in very good condition.

Front and rear fender – Made of an unknown plastic, no identifying stamps or marks. There is one small scratch in the paint down into the plastic and a couple of areas where the paint has been rubbed off. OEM finish is dull, looks like someone sanded it with 2,000 grit. Could be micro cracks? It will take a shine if you hit it with some good wax, but that only lasts a week or two.

Side Covers – Again with the plastic. OEM finish is in excellent condition though.