Tsukayu Saddlebags

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 8:30 am
I started sanding a set of cheap Chinese fiberglass saddle bags this weekend. Two things…

- If anybody wants you to paint Tsukayu saddlebags you are in for some sanding to get them flat.

- Based on the pictures, any advice or problems that I need to watch out for?

This is my first time getting this far down into a fiberglass surface. The bags are made by Tsukayu and were shipped painted gloss black. When I got them they didn’t look bad, but if you looked close you could tell they were not flat. Now you can see how far from flat they really were.

I used a 6” Duroblock foam block and started 80 grit in a few of the worst areas. Finished with 150 on the block, and then worked all the tight spots by hand. Exposed as much a 7 layers in a couple of places and still had significant low spots left. So I am thinking this is going to take a few sessions of prime and sanding to get reasonably flat.

Thoughts?
Attachments
c photo.jpeg
b photo.JPG
a photo.JPG

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:27 am
Use some glaze where you have to. Polyester primer. Block it all out then some 2k sand and paint.
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany
Axalta ChromaBase Elite Standox Imron 5000 6000
PPG Delfeet Deltron Global Matthews
Sherwin Williams Ultra 7000 Genesis
Valspar DeBeer LIC
Akzo Nobel Sikkens Lesonal

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 1:37 pm
Thanks for the reply. I have lots-O-questions as this is my first time doing this.