Newbie painting fiberglass bus panels

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:32 pm
Hello,

I am relatively new to painting and I need some advice on my next project.

I have a 2003 Ford E450 Shuttle Bus that we are using as a tailgating vehicle. We'd like to do a two color paint scheme with yellow in the front fading into red on the rear. My previous painting experience has always been from bare metal. We used primer then base color, then a couple coats of clear.

Since we're painting over an already painted fiberglass surface, what steps do I need to take and what type of paint should I use? Please keep in mind that this is not going to be a show quality paint job, I just need it to look good (not look like a crappy rattle can job) and not fade after a year.

I'm new to this site, so once I figure out how to upload pictures, I'll give you an idea of what it looks like now.

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 11:57 pm
Well, the fiberglass really isn't coming into play too much here. You are essentially putting a new paint job over existing paint which is done all the time. I am assuming that is probably the factory paint you are going over? Wash it, use an automotive degreaser, scuff sand/or scuff pad existing paint, epoxy seal coat, and it's off into your preferred paint system. I'd probably go base/clear on it if you're doing the fade thing. And on that subject....have you ever done an effect like that? You'd better do some searches on here and maybe try to see some youtube demos on it. I've done fades from top to bottom on cars/trucks but a fade like you are doing is much more ambitious especially on something this large.