Refinishing old fiberglass hard top

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 12:52 pm
Hi -

I'm new here & while I've done plenty of welding & fabrication on cars, I'm pretty new to auto body work. Other than some small repairs, I've not done much before.

I have a little British MGB (that I put a Ford 302 into) & recently got an old (circa 1970's) fiberglass hard top for it. Plan is to paint it gloss black (which I know means prep needs to be best it can be).

The top had a thick gel-coat that simulated vinyl texture which I sanded off. That left thousands of little air bubbles/pin holes. On the recommendation of a friend, I put down a coat of polyester primer to make the holes easier to see & then filled them with polyester finishing putty (FINISH PRO, AL-GLAZE PRO GLAZING PUTTY, Part # FPR-216).

There were also a few places where I had to fix the top with fiberglass & a thin layer (<3/16") of polyester filler.

I've since sanded the top smooth so there's a patchwork of bare fiberglass, glazing putty, and filler.

I'm now ready to start block sanding, but do I need to use a sealer before I start spraying high build primer? If so, what's recommended? And/or what other recommendations do you have so I don't waste time/energy/$$?

I work slow, but will try to use this tread as a progress page & I'm sure I'll have more questions as I progress through this process. I appreciate your help along the way!

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:08 pm
With all that going on I'd seal it all down with full strength epoxy primer. If you've got a local jobber see if they've got maybe some closeout quarts in colored epoxy primer. I mean, you're going black so it's going to cover.... If buying on the net look at the storefront here for Tamco. You could also consider maybe **********.