New to painting & looking to paint custom fishing rods

Anything goes in the world of fiberglass and plastic

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:09 pm
Hello, I build custom fishing rods and am looking to create some more unique designs utilizing automotive paint. I have done a couple tests using a cheap Harbor Freight gun and Wicked water based paints just to try some different patterns and techniques before I start using more expensive automotive paint. I am looking to paint them with a metallic urethane and was told to add a flex additive as well. My question mainly revolve around what type of gun/tip size would best fit my needs. I have a compressor that is older and only puts out 7cfm at 40psi so unfortunately I don't have a huge compressor to work with. Since I have no real experience painting and since fishing rods obviously have such a small surface area I am looking to find the most efficient solution to fit my needs. Any advice to get me started in the right direction would help a ton.

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:57 am
Okay, in our restoration business when we run into specialty items that we need to finish we will usually research and go directly to suppliers in that particular niche field, ie., specialized stone coatings on stone/concrete, specialized outdoor metal coatings on outdoor bronze, copper, gold, etc......you get the drift. In your field I found this....
http://www.mudhole.com/supplies-rod-bui ... s-supplies
Looks like they are supplying specifically to guys just like you......
I would like to address that gun selection thing though....you might consider getting a mini-gun for what you are doing. They work just like a regular size gravity gun however they put down a smaller pattern, use a lot less cfm, etc. You could see if that works for you by just buying one of the cheap Harbor Freight guns, then move up to something decent later....
https://www.harborfreight.com/4-oz-hvlp ... 61473.html