I think I know why, but....

Discuss custom painting, artwork and airbrushing

Non-Lurker

United Kingdom
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:42 am
Hi.
I'm a newbie here, from the UK.
I'm a massive fan of JoAnn's work, have the books and have read them cover to cover. Thanks JoAnn for all of the information, it's worth its weight in gold.

Now, probably what I'm asking here could just as easily be posted elsewhere on this forum but since what I do is primarily custom work here goes.
I recently painted an acoustic guitar. It had been knocked about by its previous owner and so I had had to repair it in various places. having flatted everything smooth, I primed it using Upol high build primer, a rattle can I know, but for the small volume required (and given that it's always gonna be sanded) I generally use canned primers. I flatted that smooth and then sprayed the whole deal with Auto Air basecoat sealer black. Once that was done and heat cured I sprayed four light coats of AA black base. I waited for all of that to fully cure before shooting two coats of 2k clear over the lot, just to seal the basecoat and prior to airbrush work. A few days later I flatted the clearcoat with 1200 and began airbrushing the required artwork on the front of the guitar. After about, oh, forty or so hours of airbrushing, the job was ready for final clearing. At this point I realised that I was running low on my usual 2k product and so I phoned the local supply store and asked them to get me some more. They told me they'd ring me back when it was in, but I heard nothing. About two weeks later I called by and was told that they couldn't get the usual stuff but had a really good replacement that they sold tons of and that I'd not be disappointed with. I asked if it was the same flash off time as the other one (2-3 minutes) and was told yes, it was.
Note; first schoolboy error; alwasy get a tech sheet.