newb..custom paint question/advice

Discuss custom painting, artwork and airbrushing

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 12:33 pm
Hi I'm in the process of shooting a personal project of my own and need some advice on what or more of how to go about it. I've never used pearls before, I've sprayed many bikes before and a few cars but basic. What I want to accomplish is a deep deep sapphire blue with a gleam when the light hits it but look black in the shadows. I've asked a few people I work with and know that paint and they all give separate advice and ways to do it. I want to try pearl. Can anyone help me out with the steps and good advice. My plan is to shoot a satin black base, then shoot 2-3 coats of pearl in a mid coat or carrier lay some graphics shoot some Moore pearl then either candy or just clear. Any help with wich base I should Change or what type of color or type of pearl I should go with. Thanks newby.

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 8:35 pm
I don't think the pearl itself is going to give you 'deep sapphire blue', it will be overwhelmed by the black base.

Deep blue is going to look black in dark light, anyway.

You are correct - always put the pearl additive in a mid-coat (clear base) like PPG DBC-500. The trick is to make sure you very carefully measure or weigh the amount of pearl additive per quart/pint of mid-coat so you have consistency -- and mix the stuff really well. "Less is more" with pearl, so don't overdo it.

I'd be inclined to try the sapphire blue base with a complementary blue pearl additive. And shoot some practice panels first, to make sure you test what the final result is going to look like.

Pearl over graphics is ok but I'm really not sure about candy flakes over graphics unless you are talking about just a fine metallic flake. Careful with that though because you can end up with a "sparkly" looking car and lose the effect of the graphics.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 11:39 am