Need help choosing a gun!

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:52 am
Hello everyone,
I paint for a body shop in Southern California. We paint at most 2 cars a day. We fix rent a cars that you find and enterprise, hertz, budget so that means a lot of metalics. We paint with ppg omni plus mostly. Sometimes I paint envirobase water base or dupoint nason. I am using a devilbiss finishline 3 now and it has been giving me problems the past 2 days. So I feel it time to upgrade. I will be using one gun for both base and clear. I have read a lot of good things about sata and iwata also the devilbiss tekna guns. Please point me in the right direction.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:07 pm
I am a beginner and feel almost didn't want to reply because it sounds like you're a pro since you do this for a living. I've been researching for a LONG time before I bought my guns (flg3 for primer and copper tekna for base and clear) but it sounds like sat a would be right up your ally or the black tekna since they are faster guns. You are in a production environment and 2 cars a day is a lot to me. The sat a is expensive but you can write it off since it's a tool for your income.

Manufacturer
USA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 2:02 pm
Ballerbrian wrote:Hello everyone,
I paint for a body shop in Southern California. We paint at most 2 cars a day. We fix rent a cars that you find and enterprise, hertz, budget so that means a lot of metalics. We paint with ppg omni plus mostly. Sometimes I paint envirobase water base or dupoint nason. I am using a devilbiss finishline 3 now and it has been giving me problems the past 2 days. So I feel it time to upgrade. I will be using one gun for both base and clear. I have read a lot of good things about sata and iwata also the devilbiss tekna guns. Please point me in the right direction.