Spray Gun and Compressor size

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 8:29 pm
Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to this but I am going to be painting motorcycles as a hobby (Probably one every few weeks) I currently have a 30 gallon compressor running at 120 PSI and 7 cfm. I looked into LVLP guns but it seems that they don't get the job done quite as well and it's difficult to find a good one for under $500. I read that I have the option of attaching a spare compressor to add about 4cfm. I am hoping that because the parts I'm painting are so small I can run a HVLP without having a problem with the lag of the air compressor. So with that in mind, what are my best options for guns? My other question is, do I need more than one gun for primer/top coat/clearcoat or if I wash my gun in between and switch the tip out, is one gun acceptable? There seems to be mixed reviews on this. Thanks for any help :)
Ephesians 6

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 9:07 pm
Melissa, you can certainly use a single gun...it's just that if painting a lot, you will find it nice to have a dedicated primer gun. Also, primer is slightly abrasive and can wear out a gun faster than base or clear does -- but again you need to be painting a LOT for that to be a concern.

I've done plenty of complete car refinishes from metal all the way to clear with a single gun and a 1.4 tip.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:36 am
Thank you so much. If you happen to have spare time (or anyone else who sees this) would you mind giving a complete list of all the supplies needed from start to finish? I will list what I have found so far:
Well ventilated Paint booth
Sealed motor exhaust fan
Respirator
Paint suit
Gloves
Bondo or Putty
Epoxy primer
Thinner
Automotive paint
Clear Coat
Base coat/Clear coat reducer (are these 2 different products?)
Mixing stick
Quart paint cans