Turbine HVLP recommendation?

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:19 pm
Hey guys so i'm pretty new to spray painting, but I'm looking to purchase a turbine HVLP or a small Air compressor to use on painting my car, I will not be painting the entire car and will be painting one panel.

I was recommended this product:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Campbell-Hau ... 57&cj=true

But i've never used a HVLP that uses a turbine before, i've always had access to an air compressor until my recent move.
Can someone recommend me a decent HVLP that either runs on turbine or an air compressor that has 7.1 cfm? (hopefully around $300-$400)
Thanks!!

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 4:16 pm
Even just doing panel spraying I think you would get a little frustrated with that underpowered CH 2 stage. It's a small 2 stage so you'll end up trying to adjust your materials a lot which can lead into solvent pop, poor flowout etc. In my opinion the best bang for the buck right now that will easily handle just about any coating (look at his chart to match up tip/nozzle with materials) is Sprayfines' 3 stage.... go here.......
http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-Stage-HVLP-Tu ... ls&vxp=mtr

If that is out of your league check for used units on Craigslist. A lot of guys really don't understand how to use them so they put a few hours on them and sell them. If buying used look for names like Capspray, Titan, Apollo, Wagner, TP Tools, Turbanaire, American Turbine, etc. I've seen nice older 2 and 3 stage Capspray systems for $200 or so lately.

If you want to learn more about the systems put "turbine" in the search on this site. You should come up with 600+ posts.
Metal, wood, fiberglass, we work it all... www.furniturephysicians.com We can restore the irreplaceable!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:34 am