Is this much water normal?

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 12:21 pm
Worked on a car yesterday spraying plasti dip with my FLG4... Had issues with water for a while. I'm new with this setup so maybe it was just part of the learning curve... I dunno.

I have an 80g Campbell hausfeld, single stage, 155psi max, rated for 19CFM @ 90psi. Coming out of the compressor is 3/4 copper going about 5 feet up to the ceiling, and running 20 feet with a slight grade away from the compressor. It then drops down 5 feet to a T, where it goes down to a drain, and the middle of the T goes to a QC3.

About everytime the compressor cycled, I drained the tank and got a good bit out. The indicator in the QC3 turned white. I got water out of its drain as well as my line drain.

Really wasn't expecting that much water! It was a humid day, but ****!

Any suggestions?

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 12:28 pm
3.jpg

1.jpg

2.jpg

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 12:59 pm
What's a "good bit" in your mind may not be what's in my mind. Are we talking teaspoons, ounces, quarts?
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 1:20 pm
Enough to make a mess of anything in front of it lol. My remedy was to crack all of the valves and let them see me while I was praying. But that just doesn't seem like the right way to do it.

I can tell you that I had water at the gun by the second cycle of the compressor. My indicator on my filter had turned white.

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 4:29 pm
That sounds like way too much water making it to the QC3 especially if it is turning the indicator to white so quickly. The only real remedy here is to add more copper, you need the air to have a chance to cool and condense inside the pipe instead of making it to the end laden with water.