Plasma cutter

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:34 pm
Im soon to be in the market for a decent plasma cutter, one that is durable but wont break the bank. Would like personal experience, I have used eastwoods plasma cutter but reviews are discouraging about longevity. Thanks!

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:53 pm
I have Hypotherm Maxx 40 floor model, that we purchased new about 25 years ago. I can't recommend their products enough, in all the time we've owned it (seeing almost daily use, I'm a professional not a hobbiest) its only had to be serviced 1 time and that was due to a razor blade being dropped inside the case and frying a circuit board.

When this one decides to give up, I'll be replacing it with another Hypotherm. Works flawlessly, and have never hit the duty cycle. My advice on Welders & Plasma's: spend a little more and buy one that's bigger than anything that you plan to use it for!
"My vehicles are always dressed in formal attire, wearing a Black Bowtie"

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:17 pm
Thank you, i will check them out. I am in the range of 1000$ limit, but making the decision on something maybe 200-400$ more for the time it will have on it, should pay itself off in no time. I have learned my lesson on cheap machines

Settled In
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 6:15 am
I got a great deal on a new Hypertherm Powermax 600 from a liquidator a few years ago.($700 Cdn) Seems very well made and customer service has been exemplary. Bigger box than the new equivalent powered models, but I get the feeling it will last a long time with my limited use. I love having a plasma cutter.

Fully Engaged

Canada
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:32 am
I have a Miller Spectrum 625, yes they are pricey. I also have an Everlast EX250 TIG welder that has been great. They also make plasma's

http://www.everlastgenerators.com/

Fully Engaged
USA