Recommended Tools and Budget For Beginner

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:50 pm
Getting into Paint and Body work to supplement my hobby. I have been reading the newbie threads and am beginning to get an understanding of the amount of detail that goes into this line of work.

I havent been able to distinguish between good and bad tools for painting. I dont want to start off with Harbor Freight guns because I do believe you get what you pay for. My first painting project will be working with a fiberglass aftermarket hood manufactured by Extreme Dimensions, just mentioning it if it makes any diference, and a plastic bumper cover off of my late model pontiac GTO.

How much should I be looking to spend on a decent quality gun, Compressor, Paint Supplies, Body Work materials... Ect...

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:54 pm
Although I am far from an expert ( I actually did my first paint job last year ), I can tell you of my first learning experience. The heart of the job is going to be your compressor and air system. I purchased a 60 gallon, twin cylinder compressor from Lowes and piped 3/4 inch tubing to an inline filter. I used copper pipe but recently relocated my shop and repiped it with the Maxline Rapidair system.....much cheaper and just as good. This setup will give you the amount of air you need for a good shoot. As far as guns go I tried applying primer and paint with a cheap set of guns....you know the set of 3 for $99. I had problems with spitting and sputtering, getting a proper fan adjusted, and clogging. I bit the bullet and bought a quality paint gun kit from Eastwood and I was in heaven....no problems at all spray after spray. The cost of all this.....Compressor-$459 on sale, Rapidair system-$299 Ebay, paintgun-$349 Eastwood, water separator- $149 Amazon, misc. parts-$100. This may sound like a big investment to begin with but believe me, it