Newbie...Turbine Paint System Eastwood Vs. TP

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:17 am
Newbie on the board, so Hello from Lexington, KY :-)

I am looking at Turbine Paint Systems and currently considering the TP Tools Showtime 90 HVLP System
http://www.tptools.com/Showtime-90-HVLP ... ?b=d*13231

and the Eastwood System
http://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-apollo ... h-gun.html

The Eastwood is a 5 Stage @ 9.5 PSI.
Any reviews or comparison between the units, which is easier to work with and gives the best results? Other suppliers to consider for a better unit?

Thanks. I have some experience painting, but new to the Turbine units.

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:02 pm
You can look me up on here concerning turbine systems. I have a rather extensive background with them for the last 36 years or so.
Okay, here's how those break down.... TP is half the cost and includes a great turbine touch-up gun.... Apollo unit is twice as much in price and is going to generate more "heat" in the system with very little gain in overall spray quality, yes, you pickup more "cfm throughput" with it but this is kind of overkill. My shop 4 stage puts out more than that. Once you get past 4 stages the benefits are just not that great. Also, I absolutely hate that restrictive gun that comes with the Apollo system. It is a gun that is designed to work better with these higher pressure systems but again there are tradeoffs, one being that overspray increases.