Gun spraying intermittently

Any questions about tools or supplies. Post your compressor/gun questions here.

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 11:23 pm
Total newb at this and at a total loss. Gun spraying intermittently. Cleaned 3 times and torqued everything. Kept spraying intermittently. Air flows fine, but as soon as the cup with paint is added...on, off, on, off...
Ran out of my pint of paint(bumper cover) trying to correct the issue. Paint came out great when it actually sprayed paint...nice stripes with this metallic. Luckily the guy didn't care and just told me to clear it as it was going on a well used 2001 Maxima. Any ideas guys? Thanks in advance.
Eastwood Concours 1.4
3M PPS
60 gallon 12.9 @40psi

3rd coat of paint
3 coats of clear...this Tamco 2100 is awesome even with the gun acting up.

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 2:03 am
Seriously, I don't get it. If you know you have a problem, why continue with a job that you know is going to be sub-standard? Worse, not even your own car. Who's paying for the paint you wasted?

The answer to this problem should have been found in a few minutes with a quick Google search at the time if you didn't know, yourself. No doubt it's been covered many times on this site, as well.

Spluttering is usually caused by a loose, unlubricated or failing gland packing on the fluid needle. It can also be caused by a fluid cap that is damaged or not seating properly. There are other causes too - pot to gun joint not sealed, air vent not clear - which can contribute to the problem.
Chris

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:34 am
it is a lose fluid nozzle.
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany
Axalta ChromaBase Elite Standox Imron 5000 6000
PPG Delfeet Deltron Global Matthews
Sherwin Williams Ultra 7000 Genesis
Valspar DeBeer LIC
Akzo Nobel Sikkens Lesonal

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:42 am
PainterDave wrote:it is a lose fluid nozzle.