trying to find re-finish products that I like

A place for professionals to network and discuss the business and technology inside the shop.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2015 4:29 pm
Hi guys, im a lurker that decided to toss out a couple of questions.

I'm the owner/operator of a small business that takes classics and muscle cars only. I'm not a collision/insurance shop.

I'm in my first year of operation as a full time business after decades of sidelining with this sort of work.

Everything I do comes down to bare metal, most everything gets either full panel, partial panel replacement and some basic patching and metalwork followed by my filler work, 2k epoxy prime then I surface prime for hand blocking. I've used various polyester and or urethane surfacing primers. I'm trying to get away from the polyester and leaning harder on urethane surfacers.

My paint jobs are always overalls, typically base/clear that gets wet sanded and buffed.

I'm turning out decent work, nice stuff. But I'm kind of killing myself getting it done.

I haven't found the perfect surfacing primer for my needs yet. I've found some that sand great but are very difficult to apply and I've found some that go on easy but they clog paper like crazy when blocking. I need a product that I can apply fairly fast that also dry blocks nicely to 400.