Priming Epoxy Resin Tips?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

United Kingdom
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 4:54 pm
Hi guys, Im planning some fibreglass repairs and was unsure about a couple of things.

Basically im using an epoxy resin filler (from west systems), and I was wondering if there was any suggestions, tips, or special advice I should heed before priming over it.

I planned to use a simple UPOL aerosol primer, but could get hold of some 2 pack if you guys say its worth it?

Someone I spoke to earlier said I didnt actually need to spray primer over it but that seems totally crazy.

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:55 pm
I used some of the West epoxy filler a long time ago on my boat, it was very hard sanding as I remember. I'm no expert, but I do think that you need to use a two-part epoxy primer.

Fully Engaged

Greece
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:03 pm
fireboat wrote:I used some of the West epoxy filler a long time ago on my boat, it was very hard sanding as I remember. I'm no expert, but I do think that you need to use a two-part epoxy primer.

I think almost all epoxies are two-part\. You need to primer the epoxy first and then paint over it use something compatible with epoxies for primer.. I don't know what that UPOL stuff is..

Top Contributor

USA
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:38 pm
Get some epoxy primer and seal the fiberglass with it first. No laquer or enamel spray bombing please.
Never argue with an idiot, he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

Fully Engaged

Greece
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:35 pm
timbo wrote:Get some epoxy primer and seal the fiberglass with it first. No laquer or enamel spray bombing please.

Epoxy primer is meant to be applied over bare metal not over fiberglass please use either polyester or epoxy resin to spot repair where you want to.

Top Contributor

USA
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:30 pm
giorgos wrote: