metal prep - dawn soap - Eastwood pre prep whats next

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

Canada
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:46 pm
Hi to all;
i just joined the group. What a fantastic sight. I have read and reread a lot of posts. As a newbie my biggest challenge right now is trying to understand your lingo. A lot of you seem to talk in code making it a little difficult to understand. However I think I'm catching on.
I am building a 1931 Model A pick up truck out of a 4-door car and part of the restoration pleasure is doing myself what I can which includes the painting. At least I'm trying and its very interesting.
Last fall I brought my brand new Brookfield bare metal pick up truck box, rear fenders and splash shields to my brother in law to prime in his back woods shop, a few days later the primer lifted on every piece, many many hours were spent stripping the primer to bare metal to redo it. We used Nason epoxy primer mixed 2:1 as per instructions. Originally the metal had a light oil coating to prevent rusting so here were the steps I took before applying the primer:
1. sprayed laquer thinner on and wiped off until rag was pretty clean
2. sprayed and wiped down with acetone until all clean
3. washed everything down with soap and water
4. sanded all surfaces with 100 grit paper
5. loaded all metal body parts in my trailer and brought to painting shop, temp was cool around 50 deg. f.
6. loaded all parts into warmed up shop and waited for an hour before applying primer
7. used HVLP setup, no runs, no orange peel, overall looked real good
8. waited an hour before loading into trailer and brought back home
9. two mornings later I noticed about 4 blister marks on every piece, sanded with 320 grit wet and feathered it back nice
10. next morning the feathered edge was gone, blistered away to twice the size.
11. talking to Dupont Rep, says I must have picked up moisture going from cold to warmer atmosphere