Severely cracked/crazed paint, fix on the cheap

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:19 am
Hi. I'm relatively new to painting cars with only two under my belt both with acrylic lacquer.

I wasn't a fan of that paint and I'm looking to use a urethane two pack paint for base and clear coats this time around. Please add any advise on that if you have any tips.

I have a old beat up ute (utility, pick-up) that has severe cracks in the paint. I have included a toothpick in all photos to indicate size.
I don't want a perfect finish, in fact just something to get the car by for another 5 years will do. I don't want it cracking soon after this paint job.

Left door, small cracks
http://phizinza.com/images/door_small_cracks.jpg

Left door, large cracks
http://phizinza.com/images/door_large_cracks.jpg

Left pillar, large cracks
http://phizinza.com/images/pillar_sande ... cracks.jpg

Roof, small cracks sanded over; about half thickness of paint taken off
http://phizinza.com/images/roof_sanded_small_cracks.jpg

I've just been using 80 grit on a D/A so far.
On the pillar you can see many layers of paint, it actually goes like this from what I can tell: Metal > factory Primer > factory Red > grey primer > yellow primer > red > grey primer > red. Other parts such as half of the roof go: Metal > primer > red > primer > red. Other half of the roof: Metal > primer > red. The picture of the roof is of the original red as there is only one primer under it. That primer doesn't seem to be cracked, but it's so thing I have been sanding straight through it.
Either when it was sprayed they didn't do a clear or the clear has completely worn away.

What I would like to know, is there a way I can sand less and still get a finish that won't crack for at least 5 years? At this stage I have sanded for 2 hours and I've done less then 5% of the sanding on the car.