What are the correct ways to repair these sheetmetal areas?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:28 am
I need advice on the correct way to repair these 2 areas on a 1985 Jeep CJ steel body.

I am a body repair novice, having only done sheet metal welding, filling, glazing and painting work on the inside of the body in about a dozen places. These 2 areas are on the outside of the body tub and aren't flat surfaces, so I don't want to screw them up. I am comfortable MIG welding with .28 wire on 16 gauge steel. I have plenty of steel left over from my previous round of repairs a couple of years ago.

The 2 pictures show an area under where the windshield hinge mounts, on the side. The rusty hole in the photo is about 2 inches wide. After I ground out the previous owner's patch with a strip disk, I found body filler and a fiberglass mat. It looks like there is an inner layer of metal behind the stuff I removed. I can weld in new metal, but I fear I will loose the indentation that is part of the factory design. The factory design is sheet metal about 6 inches tall, in the shape of a triangle with the top cut off. The middle is indented, leaving a 3/8" raised edge around the triangle. I still need to get in there with the cutoff wheel and make a clean hole, but I need help in the best way to approach repairing this. It may just end up filling in the indented part because I don't think it will be easy to keep the original design, and I can't find a reproduction part for this area.

The last pictures are the rear passenger corner where I backed into my BBQ pit. I think all I need to do is pound the sheet metal back to round, fill glaze, prime, and paint it. But can anyone give me a detailed procedure here, especially bringing the sheet metal back to the correct shape? Don't assume I know what I'm doing, or have any body tools.