Need help making a list of needed materials/general help

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:57 am
Hey there guys. This is my first post so bare with me, I'm sure its frustrating at times having the new guys ask the same questions over and over. I've read through a few stickies, and they have all been massively helpful. I do feel that asking a few questions directly will help me prevent myself from seriously screwing anything up, so I figured it couldn't hurt to ask a few (possibly repetitive) questions. I'll give you guys some background information to help with this whole process.

Background:

I have close to no background in automotive painting, I'm a college student (broke/living at home), and the paint job I want to do is to repaint my 1997 Honda Prelude a different color (currently a seriously sun-faded red.) My dad has a decent amount of experience with automotive painting and he will be giving me a hand throughout the process. I'm only here because I fear that he is at times a little cheap and reckless with some things and I figured I should gather some info on my own before just taking his word for it! I don't expect to do a perfect job, but I would like something that looks fairly decent. We have a pretty decent air compressor here (dad has used it for past paint projects), a decent paint gun, and plenty of different tools that could be used for prep (I think). The car currently has quite a few dents on the drivers side door and a bit on the quarter. There is some surface rust on the trunk (around the keyhole) and some rust on the front of the hood (surface).

My questions are as follows: