Paint Crinkle

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:46 pm
I'm painting my Camaro with Nason Ful-Base. During painting some idiot punk kid decided to do donuts in the gravel parking lot across from my shop. The big cloud of dirt drifted over my shop and found it's way inside & on my paint. I had the first coat of clear on the top half. I just stopped, waited a day, then wet sanded the crap out. There were places where I had to sand thru clear into color, & places that even had primer showing.

Today I started shooting color again & now the paint is crinkling along the line where I had to stop my clear the other day.
What are my options at this point?

Thanks,
Ray

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:54 pm
I would sand the whole car with 500. Then when you start to spray the base, spray a cpl light coats first before the usual med wet. Make sure you allow it to flash really good too. You want all them solvents out.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:07 pm
Do I have to repaint the entire car? I know crinkle will be all the way to primer. But where I didn't sand thru clear should just need another coat of clear.

Ray

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 6:25 pm
You could blend it. Blend up into the clear about six inches and you should be alright. If it were I, I would reshoot the whole car with base then clear.

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 10:14 pm
Wherever you broke though to base, you need to re-prime or seal. You cannot just shoot more base over it, and just shooting a light coat to try to keep the solvents from doing what they are supposed to do will give you poor adhesion. The reason for the "crinkle" is the solvents from the base attacking and lifting the edge of the broken clear - this is why you need to prime or seal those areas, first.