Paint did not bond to primer - catastrophic failure

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:07 am
Hi everyone,

This is my first post, great forums! I just painted my car and the paint did not bond at all! I need to repaint my car and I was hoping for advice on finding the problem before I repaint with the same material. I am not a professional painter by any stretch, but I have painted many cars and never had a problem like this. Here is what I did and what happened in steps:

1. Strip 1967 Plymouth Fury convertible to bare metal
2. Self etch primer
3. U-pol epoxy primer
4. Rage gold bondo, more primer, block, 3M guide coat, more primer and bondo as needed to get it all dead flat
5. I have used this combo before, but here is the new step. I sanded the U-pol primer with 220 and then followed their tech sheet and mixed it up at 4:1:2 with reducer to use the U-pol as a sealer, otherwise U-pol primer is 4:1: 0-10% reducer - that is a lot of reducer but I followed their tech sheet, sprayed 1 thin coat
6. Sanded with 600 grit per base coat instructions
7. Waited several days, lacquer thinner wipe down, then tack cloth
8. Sprayed 5 coats Valspar 999 based coat mixed 1:1 with matched Valspar reducer
9. Sprayed 4 coats Valspar LVCC3300 on the same day after appropriate flash times. It only took 1/2 a gallon of clear to spray the recommended 2 coats on the entire car, so I thought I needed more and sprayed 2 more coats (big mistake I think)

OK, at this point the car was a show finish, beautiful! One month later, I banged the paint and it chipped which was odd, so I got under the chip to check the bond - uh oh, the paint peeled up in sheets. I knew it was a disaster, so I peeled the entire car off in 30 minutes by hand with a razor blade to get the peels started.