Problems laying down clear coat- what am I doing wrong

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 5:16 pm
Hey guys, so i'm fairly new at painting. Done mostly rattle can stuff and it came out decent so I decided to step it up and invest in some paint guns.
So I started off by painting my motorcycle gas tank and it actually came out pretty good. Had some orange peel but I sanded and buffed it all out and i'm proud of it. So my buddy wanted me to do his gas tank and I agreed. And thats why im here.
So there is 2 issues im having. First is when I lay down the clear it doesn't come out nice and glossy, but super scattered and matte. The first time I painted the tank I laid it down thick to get that gloss and but I ended up with a bunch of solvent pop. The second time I laid it down thinner and gave it longer flash times, when I did the 2nd coat of clear I could tell something was not right. Turns out the clear was drying extremely slow even though I mixed it correctly(4:1). I added a bit more activator and it seemed to work better but the damage was done, I had solvent pop again. So I did like 2 more light coats of clear and it ended up looking super scattered and matte and still had solvent pop. I tried sanding the clear smooth but the ridges were just too much. I don't get it because I used the same paint and everything on mine and it looked much better. I painted with a 1.4mm nozzle, 80-85 degree temps, and I messed around with the pressure but ultimately used 40psi.
Any idea what im doing wrong? What is the proper way to lay down clear? Should I do it thick enough to get that gloss but then wait real long for the solvents to evaporate?

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:07 pm
What brand are the spray guns?
What is the CFM requirements of the spray guns?
What is the size and CFM output of your compressor?
What drier, water separator, regulator and filtration are you using?