Painting on a budget?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:41 pm
Hello guys,

I want to paint my 2001 Toyota Celica GT. It is stock blue (Spectra Blue Mica 8M6) and I'd like to paint over the dents and scratches in the same color. However, I am a poor college student with a budget of roughly $500.

Over the past few months I have researched (Googled) many different sprayer setups, paint brands and methods. Eastwood looks good to me but their number of products is overwhelming and the methods for spray painting vary greatly (i.e. primer vs sealer).

The only thing I do know is that I'd like to use this cheap-o paint sprayer - http://m.harborfreight.com/high-volume-low-pressure-spray-gun-kit-44677.html?utm_referrer=direct%2Fnot%20provided

It's not ideal but I don't have space for a compressor (in my budget or my mom's single-car garage). Not looking for a show car finish either and from the video reviews I've watched, the finished product should be good enough for me. However, I'd like to get the most bang for my buck with paint. Can I ask you smart people for tips?

Tl;dr: What primer/base/clear should I use on a budget? And should I use primer or sealer when it's the same base color?
Last edited by QuickQuestion22 on Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 5:57 pm
Your link isn't working but if it's a cheap "all in one" paint gun and compressor (or turbine) - then forget it.

Hate to be the bearer of bad news but unless you want to do the Rustoleum roll-on special cheap paint job (google it), there's really no way to paint a car on a $500 budget including tools.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:23 pm
I fixed the link.

The $500 is not including tools.

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:43 pm