Help with Color Match

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

Sweden
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 3:47 am
Hello. This is my first post as I just found this forum through a google search. I have a 1970 Plymouth Duster that has been repainted by a previous owner. I'm a beginner when it comes to sheetmetal work and painting, but I want to give it a go. I have made some spot repairs that had rust issues and now need to find a close match color. I went to a shop who used a color spectrometer. The closest match they had in their computer was this (see picture). It's a mopar color. They mix PPG paint at the shop by the way. I dont really know if the paint on my car is an original mopar color that has faded over the years, or if it is a custom color. To me the paint on my car looks a bit more yellow and possible a lighter green, but like I said, I really dont have any knowledge on this.

Anyway, how would I go about to get a bit closer than what the picture shows? I dont have the code for the color they mixed me at home right now, I can go get it in my garage if that would help.

Thanks!

IMG_6241.JPG

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:59 am
Check under the door sill plate to see what color is there. If it is faded factory paint the true color should still exist under the sill plate.
You should read up on properly blending paint as no matter how close the match it will need to be blended so the eye doesn't see the repairs.
Taking a small panel (like a mirror) that is the correct color to your local jobber should allow them to tint the paint in order to match your sample.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Settled In

Sweden
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:32 pm
Thank you. I highly suspect it is a custom paint. When you say learn about blending paint, do you mean mixing the paint? Or do you mean actually painting the repairs and make a smooth, feather transition to the old paint?

Board Moderator