solvant pop issues

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:23 pm
HI everyone, I’m a small time guitar builder & I use Nason primer, base & 2k clear coat
The issue I’m having is this…when I do a natural wood finish when all I did was seal the wood & add clear I’m good, I also do finishes after its primed & sanded, I dip the guitar body in water with paint on top (swirling) then I wait 2 days & clear & I’m good.

Here is where the issue is, when I use base coat I have tried waiting a day before clear & I have tried shooting the clear after the base has dried about an hour & after 2-3 coats of clear & about 6 -10 hours later I notice the solvent pop starts & it looks like its deep under the clear like coming off the base…it’s really noticeable on black red & blue colors….itty bitty bitty white dots on the base coat that only appears after the clear is shot & starts to cure & gets worse within the 3 days before I wet sand…again I’m doing nothing different in applying my clear from the other 2 ways above…the only thing I can think of is:

I use preval sprayers on the base coat so I don’t have to pull out my spray rig & maybe the aerosol is contaminating the base?…or the nason base reducer I’m using somehow went bad?...I was going to do a test on some black with some scrap wood with my hvlp gun to see if it still happens
Anyone think they have an idea?
Thanks,
-mark

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:01 pm
Mark,