paint thoughts

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:10 pm
Has anyone had any experience with Sherwin Williams Dimension line of paints ? What do you think of it ? Any comments good or bad .

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:51 pm
it works pretty good.
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany
Axalta ChromaBase Elite Standox Imron 5000 6000
PPG Delfeet Deltron Global Matthews
Sherwin Williams Ultra 7000 Genesis
Valspar DeBeer LIC
Akzo Nobel Sikkens Lesonal

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:37 am
I have some experience with SW painting small stuff. Dimension is SW mid grade paint, 6000 is their high end stuff. Dimension is a lot less expensive. But it is not available for all colors and does not cover as well as 6000.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:19 am
Thanks for info guys . I am doing a mustang and am using atomic orange for a 2007 Vette color and looking at the paint codes the only ones that it shows is SW and PPG . I got some Omni plus but it just doesn't look right it almost looks too brown so I picked up a sample spray from SW and will try soon . Thanks again for the replies .

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:50 am
I suggest you stay away from the lower lines like Omni which is the bargain brand for PPG and Limco which is the bargain brand for BASF.
Get a better grade of paint and it will cover with fewer coats, will be easier to apply and give you a finished job with the look you desire.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:41 am
Here is the deal, the cheaper lines are cheaper for a reason. When you get into the "HIGHER END" colors like atomic orange, you aren't going to get the results you are truly looking for from the omni, shopline, limco lines.....