Keys to keeping dirt out of clear coat

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:14 am
I've been painting for close to 5 years now and still can't figure out what makes a job come out more clean or dirty. It seems like the more I try the more dirt I get in my paint and often times when I don't go out of my way to keep everything clean I end up with less dirt. I'm still learning everyday but I don't have many problems with anything but this.

I wear a shoot jacket when I paint, use new strainers every time something goes in the gun, have a filter at the compressor, wall, and at my gun, and tack after sealer and final coat of base, often water down the floor and spray the intake filters a bit (might have helped a little), and blow the car off like crazy before it goes into the booth

Anything im missing? All the painters I previously worked under either didn't care about dirt because Someone else had to cut and buff it or it was a show car and got cut down work 1000 grit anyway. If I could get my jobs to come out cleaner it would save me a lot of polish time as a 1 man operation.

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:02 am
Often when you clean the booth just before spraying you put dust and dirt into the air.
Some of it floats around for a while and then ends up in the wet clear coat.

I find that if I turn the booth fans on and leave them running while I clean and it eliminates a lot of this.

Also I blow off any dust on my person after suited up standing right in front of the exhaust end of the booth.

I have not tried this but some say attaching a ground wire to the parts you are paint helps as well.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:13 pm