Reducer removal on primer

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:30 am
OK, first off I'd like to give some of my background in painting. Yes I'm an amateur but a 17 year one. I've done 4 total repaints, about 7-8 smaller panel projects and every summer I at least break out the guns and an old fender to play on. I've done flames, water effects and marbling and some airbrushing. Using mostly base coat clear coat finishes and single stage too coats from PPG, Sherwin, Top Line and now the Nason line.

Now my current project is a total repaint on my sons Jeep and he's helping. We laid the 2K primer with no issues. Wanted to lay a pinstripe under the top coat and sprayed the body line where it was going to be. The issue was the reducer for it was the wrong one, my mistake it was right next to the correct one. Easy enough fix should have been to let it dry, sand it off, re prime, reseal and start again. 48 hours later that stripe is still not cured. Sanding resulted in clogged pads and gouges in the under primer. The idea of removing the stripe coat with reducer came to mind and worked great. But now I'm worried of paint lift, solvent bleed through it or adhesion for the top coat because of the reducer residue left behind. Grease and wax remover doesn't seem to be working or at least well, dish soap and water about the same. At this point I think a total scuff and re prime is necessary but will that be enough? Will a fresh coat of primer and sealer actually cover and conceal the mishap and let the top coat adhere at all? Will just a fresh reseal of the primer be enough alone?

Any help in this would be great!

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:29 am
im a little confused on what youre doing but it sounds like you did not harden correctly.

is the reducer you used urethane reducer ?
Experienced Trained Certified

SATA Spray Equipment Germany