Clear coat wrinkling on second pass? How fix/avoid.

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:49 am
I'm a custom mask/helmet painter and have used water based created auto air paints for decades. I used to bring my jobs to an auto body shop for clear coating. When I decided to take this full time, I started to bring the clear coating in-house as well. I have been doing fairly well at it but admit I'm still a novice and am a little intimidated by 2-part urethane clears.
Like I mentioned, I have been doing ok with the clear coating. But last night had a rash project go to heck...
Finished the backplate earlier in the day and the main mask in the evening just before clear coat. I mention this in case a paint cure time is thought to be a factor.
First coat of clear went on as usual and went down well. Waited the flash time as recommended and as I have been doing and sprayed a second coat. As I was finishing, I noticed the clear was crinkling or wrinkling. Happened to both pieces. And I had clear coated a mask a few hours earlier with. I issues. I didn't do anything to the spray gun between coats. Going to try and sand the wrinkling out but I'm thinking the job is trashed and I'll need to start over. Any idea what happened? How to avoid? How else to fix?
Createx auto air paint
Eastwood euro clear 2k
Concours hvlp gun
California air tools 2 hp/20 gal compressor.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/96ycq8guaq3t3 ... .jpeg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ef7tlfir33uc2 ... .jpeg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/kqltmzetnl9ix ... .jpeg?dl=0

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:15 pm