Fixing White Pearl Base Coat

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:50 pm
Hey guys, I am a bit of an amateur paint "enthusiast" and enjoy painting but really have trouble getting consistent results. My car (painted with white pearl) had a rust spot I decided to touch up the other day and, aside from the tiny rock chip sized piece of rust revealing a massive rust cavern, had an issue with the basecoat. Primer went on well, wet sanded it with 400, nothing too exciting. Spray out test said 3 coats of white to match. Shot the base about 24 hours ago and it appears that it flashed way too fast, got some nibs, a run (got excited with edge blender) and some read through on the sanding marks. The gun is an LPH80 with 18 psi at the gun through a 1.0 tip with fast reducer. I'm thinking next to sand out the nibs and a bit into the base with 600, clean up the overspray up with 600 so everything is smooth, drop pressure to 12 psi and use a slower reducer.

I also have an Iwata LPH400-LVB and W400-LV4 that I could use for this but with the size of the repair these guns seem like hunting mice with an elephant gun.

Also how do you guys clean up edge blender between coats? Are you usually able to spray right over it? If you have other tips or something different to try that might help, I'm all ears
Attachments
20171111_110943.jpg
Edge blender run

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:54 pm
i'm not sure why your using the blender on the base coat ?
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:37 pm
Isn't a white pearl a tri-stage paint?
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 9:17 am