Oil Canning

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:30 pm
I have a spot on the roof of a car I'M restoring. Not sure why its there but it easily pops in and out with no other damage or welds around. It has an 6" ring when it pops inward. Is the excess, stretched metal in an "Oil-Canned" area in the center?. To heat shrink, would you heat at the edges or start in the center. I'M new at this so need a good step-by-step
Thanks
Eric

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:25 am
Eric,

It is hard to say exactly where you have to shrink to fix the oil can, because the stretched condition may not be in the center of the oilcan.

You should make absolutely sure that there are no small low spots or high spots away from the oilcan area that are effecting the panel before any shrinking is done.

It may be helpful to push the oilcan up from below a little, prop it into this position if possible, and check the surface flow to see if you have low spots on the periphery when the dent is up. If you do, these need to be raised first. This does not always apply, but may help with smaller low spots. If there is a large low spot popping in and out when you pop the original oilcan area up, Try lightly stretching that whole low spot with hammer and dolly to add a little surface tension. This may help hold the oilcan part of the panel closer to where you want it for shrinking. You can always shrink the area back down if you over stretch.

I usually work an oilcan condition from the outer edges of the panel checking every tiny area for damage before addressing the middle of the oilcan. It takes a lot of patience to fix some oilcans, but if you can stretch and shrink easily, it takes the worry of over working the panel away.