Can I save my 1990 Jetta's rusted underside?

More of an art than a science - discuss metalworking and welding here.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 8:51 am
Hi,

I'm newbie here so please bear with me and correct me, if I do anything wrong.

I have a 1990 Jetta. The body is in good shape. But the bottom has a lot of rust. The car is parked and I'm not driving it. I know where I can order new floor pans and other such items online (fixmyrust.com, andysautosport.com, & topbananaparts.com). I also know a couple of autobody mechanics in my area.

There's a bulge right under the driver's seat because the area has really rusted.

Also, the back of the car's underside has really rotted out. I think this is an area that is not covered by floor pans. In fact, I'd love to know what the panels are called.

Anyway, I'd love to get some general feedback as to whether this is a doable project or not. I'm especially interested in knowing whether anyone has ever done such a job.

Any feedback will be highly appreciated.

Thanks!
Attachments
carbottom.rust8.JPG
carbottom.rust5.JPG
carbottom.rust4.JPG
carbottom.rust6.JPG
driverside.bulge.JPG
Bulge under driver's seat

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 6:43 pm
Short answer, yes that type of damage is able to be repaired with a couple of caveats.

Is it worth it? Unless it's a collector car or has serious sentimental value it's not going to be worth repairing in terms of what it's going to cost and what it's going to add in terms of value to the car.