new paint not so good

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Non-Lurker

Australia
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:14 pm
i got sent to here from another forum and this is my first time posting and yes ive used the search feature to try find my anwser but i want to make sure on what im going to do is right before i do it
okay so my car just got resprayed and was ment to be gloss black, it got sprayed with arcrilic mixed with clear, but it came up rough and some parts are very patchy(no point putting pics up because pictures make it look way better then it is), from what ive read i need to wet sand the whole car with 2000 grit and then buff it, what are peoples opinions? is this a good method?i want it to come out nice and glossy with a glassy finish

* Banned *
USA
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:08 pm
so its a single stage job right? any metallics in it at all?, how long has it been since it was painted? ready to buy the blocks, sandpaper, compounds, polishes, buffer?, masking tape?, etc?
Life is Short, Live your life and Do what You want to Do!

Non-Lurker

Australia
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:21 am
nah no metalics its just ment to be gloss black arcrilic, and yeah im ready to buy stuff, today i brought some 1200 grit sandpaper and some septone mr buff buffing cream, so far im going to sand the paint with 1200, then hit it with 1800 then 2000 then buff it with a cheap orbital buffer thing i have with the septone buffing cream then mabey hit it with some swirl remover, does that sound good or is there anything else i need? the main thing im trying to do is get rid of dodgey overspray bits, fix up patchy bits and hopefully make it real glossy

* Banned *
USA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:37 am
orbital buffer won't work. you need a variable speed buffer. that can take wool, or foam pads. there not cheap. top companies are makita, dewalt, etc. i.e. https://www.autobodytoolmart.com/makita ... 18852.aspx