what do you think of my technique??

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:52 pm
Im a small time guitar builder..i only spray 2k stuff ....i use a all in one sprayer hvlp kit...my clear pretty much always lays flat...occasional run here & there if i rush things which i try not to do...ive been doing this now for 2 years...
i start with 1500 & a sanding block with a 3m pad inbetween...then i go 3000 & 5000
i buff with a 3M 5760 Perfect-It Ultrafine Foam Polishing Pad on my drill with 3-M 36066 Perfect-It™ Finishing Material

Thing is this...
although the final product comes out great I sometimes see some scratches in certain light from the 1500 paper...
anything i can do to prevent this?
i use microfiber cloths to wipe away...

also, i sometimes i read in some other forums of people starting at 800 grit & even lower...how the hell do they not go thru to primer...this always happens to me if i try to sand down a run after i scrape it...

thanks!
-mark

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:57 pm
1500 to 3000 is too much of a leap. I'd probably either skip the 1500 altogether or do 2000 then buff it. For guitars I'd be using the slowest activator in the clear possible and also think about investing in a pedestal mounted buffer...not too much money and would be much more efficient for buffing out a guitar body than one of those drill units (which will *never* provide enough speed)...

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:06 am
Funkymann1 how bad is the orange peel? any?
I just did my car and a 2K wet sand took all the imperfections away with very weak pressure against the CC. I'm guessing its a soft clear though. but from what I've read the is no need to go down to 1000 or closer unless you are rectifying defects.
I'll include a link to my polishing project once I get it started so you can have a peek and compare notes if you will.
:goodjob:

Fully Engaged

Australia