Post wetsand tragedy

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:22 pm
Over the weekend I painted one side (it was in an accident and poorly repaired, primer exposed, etc, only had time for one side as I am a college student and it's my daily driver) of my car, first time painting, came out good and I was **** proud of it. 1993 VW Corrado if anybody is curious. I put 3 coats of color, and 2 coats of clear. After doing so, I wetsanded the car really lightly, with good quality sandpaper, 800 and then 1000 grit. Someone who restores classic cars and does body work said to do 600, I didn't want to go that heavy so I did 800 and 1000. Ultimately, I gave horrible orange peel now, and it is REALLY cloudy. Is there anything I can do? Sand down and re apply clear? Polish and buff? Going to try to submit some pics, Idk how to use this forum.

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:03 pm
Unless you put two really heavy coats of clear on there I would stop sanding immediately.
Sanding doesn't put orange peel on a car but it will reveal the orange peel by knocking the tops off (which appear dull) and leaving the low spots (which appear shiny).

Pictures would help because I am not sure what you are looking at. If you are still seeing shiny spots on the surface there is hope but you will have to proceed with caution.

1000 grit is what I usually "start" sanding with to level the surface.
You can see the process I use when sanding by hand in this post on page 11: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=22145&p=195196#p195196
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:01 am
https://gyazo.com/24b6641a96ff5eada1a991674a558713

https://gyazo.com/fd0ec84f317a2313b4d8d19649611f02

https://gyazo.com/3e24d8d60d2e38d92e25ee0357657964

Best I can do for pictures right now.

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:37 am
You have sanded the tops off the orange peel.