How long does it take you guys to colorsand a car???

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Settled In
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:45 pm
This is my first time colorsanding a car and it feels like a huge feat to accomplish....

I know it varies depending how bad of an orange peel you have or how many drips or sags you have...but my car has orange peel and i just started on the trunk today with 1500 grit and man! it feels like its not doing anything...after about 20 min or so..i can notice it getting a lil smoother but no much...

How long does it take you guys average...to colorsand a whole car??

any tips to speed this process up...feels like its gonna take days to finsih a whole car haha...i mite try to start with 1000 now..then work my way up....

No Turning Back
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 7:11 pm
I feel your pain......on another thread today I asked for some pointers regarding sandpaper ... if you are using the economy lines of paper maybe that is the problem. Meguiars and Nikkens are supposed to be really good. They are actually the same thing with different names.

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 7:31 pm
Z is on the money.. Paper makes all the difference,, I only use Nikkens paper for color sanding and mirror glaze sells it too with their label on the package of course.. It is a dollar a sheet but it is worth every penny... I let a friend of mine try some a while back and he could not believe how much better it was than what he was using...

If you go the DA route in matters less... In that scenario I use Mirka paper on my DA ...dry... start with 1000 then work your way up.. Remember you will be hard pressed to get out sand scratches under 2000 grit IMO... Yes you can do it with 1500, but 2000 buffs out much easier...

Just food for thought

BK
[Quote from Quincy Jones]

If you want more, Dream more!!!!

Settled In
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 1:33 am