What buffer...

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:57 pm
Hey guys, Im not sure what to do. Paint is almost done on my project car. hok black base, with the uc-35 clear. I dont have a buffer...or anything. I do interiors at a detail shop, and probly would be able to borrow the spare mikita over the weekend. Our buff guy does mostly quick buffs on dealership cars, has been doing it 28 years and uses wool pads. I asked him if he ever buffs out wetsanded clearcoats and says he never really does it. Anyways.

Should I buy my own foam pads & compounds for the makita & borrow it. Would I screw up buffing if its my first time with a rotary? Should I buy a porter cable 7434 DA buffer, orrr lol I dont know. The guy at the shop knows what he is doing, but is kinda...'slower' and hard to talk to. His buff bay is a mess of various brands so i dont really even know what he uses for compounds/polishes. HELP? I've done so much research and it all sounds like it would work.Im just feeling like I need somone to tell me what to do lol. So I need to decide:

Rotary Buffer(borrow mikita/buy HF buffer/buy ATD buffer OR:
orbital style (buy Porter Cable)

what compound/polish/glaze system to use
what pads to buy.
and where to get it. Im in a small town in north dakota and local choices are severily limited.

also where can i get meguires sandpaper, and for a black car what grits would you recommend.

THANK YOU! This stuff is stressful!

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:22 pm
alright, I think I am making head-way.

Im kinda broke (college student + trying to complete bodywork/paint/colorsanding on a project car = broke) lol. So im going to borrow the makita unless somone suggests otherwise. Im good with my hands, and have watched our buffer alot so I think I will be able to get the hang of it fairly quickly.

My toolparadise order so far...
(this is all meguires stuff)
Unigrit Finishing Paper - 1000-Grit; 25 Sheets