1950s scooter resto

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Fully Engaged

Australia
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:21 am
Got a 1950s scooter that I am restoring

I have disassembled and been stripping in preparation for a urethane red/cream paint ob

have sandblasted in my cabinet most of the parts. the original paint has come off quite easily, however several paints have been done in enamel more recently and are extremely slow to come off even with 30/60 garnet with my current setup. I know pressure feed would be better but my cabinet is siphon

so I decided I should work smarter rather than harder and so set up an electrolysis rig to strip the paint grease and rust from these panels

so far has been working great and only been running for 5-6 hours

this blistering was after 2-3 hours... paint just falls off... now the paint is just flaking off in the electrolyte.

its my first time doing electrolysis cleaning/stripping/rust removal, I realy like how clean/contained/non toxic/simple it is, it doesnt require my time I just set and forget... I think seeing how well it has worked I am going to use it to strip the paint from the frame, hood and leg shields as they wont fit in my blast cabinet and it would cost me at least $300 here in aus to get the parts blasted... I will build a large electrolysis pool and power it with a computer atx power supply, maybe 450+watt (puts out 30 amps at 5v an 20amps at 12v approx - compared to my trickle charger with 2 amps.

looking forward to getting to paint!

Site Admin
USA
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:36 am
very nice! Amazing how well the electrolysis process works. Keep us posted.

Fully Engaged

Australia
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 11:48 pm
duplicate post
Last edited by s900t8v on Tue Mar 31, 2015 6:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Fully Engaged

Australia
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 11:50 pm
the madness continues