Front Engine Dragster....

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:21 pm
Well been a while since I have been on the forum.....about 2-3 years ago when Darrel helped me restore and paint a 76 vette, turned out pretty sweet with his help. He also gave me a taste for a great hobby that I decided to take to the next level. I painted the vette in a garage...now I have a complete mechanics and body shop complete with paint booth for my personal use only. I decided to post my next project for others interest and also to get pointers on since even though I have the equipment, I am far from a professional. I literally just finished installing a paint booth I purchased form M1Manufacturing in North Carolina which I hope will enable me to do some quality paint jobs of my choice. Well here we go and any suggestions or pointers will be appreciated.

DSC_0037.JPG
Give a man a brush, and he will paint a Picasso.
Give a man a spray gun, and the wife better hide the car.

Fully Engaged

USA
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:38 pm
The wife and I live about 4 miles from Cecil County Dragstrip in Maryland. Last January I took a trip to Texas and picked up this little number at a give away price. The fella that owned this did 5 passes on a fresh engine, then passed away from cancer. His son liquidated his estate. My wife and I thought it would be fun to play with on Friday nights, but for each racer the personality of the machine must match the owners. Since the wife is 4'11" and African American while I am 6'3" and Caucasian, renaming this machine the "Salt&Pepper Shaker" seems a natural fit. Now I must turn this thing from blue to white.....I am thinking a pearl white. This should be an interesting project. The only bummer is the original paint job is full of stripes....and they are painted in stripes not decaled.

front.jpg
drag.jpg

Board Moderator
USA