1966 Barracuda - My First Paint Job

Show off your work! Anything from final results to full start-to-finish project journals.

Non-Lurker
USA
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2021 1:15 pm
Hey All, My first post here to say "HI" and to thank you for a great forum! I'm a former ASE Master Mechanic and have been working on my 1966 Barracuda for a number of years now. I've done all the work myself, most of it outside in the weather, and later in side my garage.

The car has gone through a rolling restoration over the past 25 years, driving it in grey primer for the past 10. I took it off the road three years ago to repair some of the rust spots I couldn't get to without disassembling the car, and to complete the body work. Correctly.

I did a lot of research a few years ago, this forum being one site that stuck out, and got to work. I won't bore you with the details that got to this point, but I've taken much of the car down to bare metal and sprayed with Eastwood epoxy primer, doing sections at a time. I still have the front fenders, the hood, the roof and a few front grill parts to go before I start spraying the high build primer to block sand. I'm working any dings out now with filler and coating with epoxy when done.

I still have a lot to do before I get to the HB primer, but with all the great posts I've read here, (YES, I read all the stickies :wink: ), I'm less worried about my first paint job.

If you want to see the progression through the years, here's a link to check out. http://www.earlycuda.org/members/prez.htm

Roger
Attachments
Barracuda66.jpg
Before the tear down

No Turning Back

USA
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2021 7:33 am
Hey, that scoop doesn't belong on that car! did you put it on? Or did it come in fiberglass?
Good luck with finishing your project!

Non-Lurker
USA
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2021 8:21 am
Hey, that scoop doesn't belong on that car! did you put it on? Or did it come in fiberglass?
Good luck with finishing your project!